top of page

Board of Directors

SMCAA is very fortunate to have dedicated individuals from all walks of life serving on our Board of Directors. They include elected officials, business and professional representatives, and consumer representatives. Together, they are a cross-section of the communities we serve and we are grateful for the time and talent they dedicate to improving their communities and the lives of people across Southwest Michigan.

SMCAA is a better, more efficient, and more effective agency because of their service.

The SMCAA Board of Directors is a tripartite board consisting of equal parts of local private sector, public sector, and low-income community representatives. SMCAA operates with a nine member board:

  •  3 public sector members, one from each of our service counties

  •  3 private sector members, one from each of our service counties

  •  3 people who represent low-income community consumers

Public Members

Chokwe Pitchford, Berrien County

James Lawrence, Cass County

Gail Patterson-Gladney, Van Buren County

Private Members

Gerrod Moore, Berrien County

Minnie Warren (Chair), Cass County

Kathy Lyons (Treasurer), Van Buren County

Consumer Members

​Corey Christopher (Vice-Chair), Berrien County

Michael Franks, Cass County

Meagan Underwood (Secretary), Van Buren County

Board Meeting Calendar for FY23-24

Review the calendar below for dates, locations, and times for board meetings. (The SMCAA Calendar year runs October-September.) Contact us if you have any questions. The board meets monthly, rotating locations throughout our tri-county service area. 

SMCAA's Board of Directors' meetings are held in-person at the locations listed below. The public is welcome to attend all SMCAA Board of Directors' meetings.

If an event has a physical location, the public may attend the meeting in-person. If a meeting is held virtually, it will be held through Microsoft Teams. The public may obtain the virtual meeting's access code on the SMCAA Facebook Page > Events > Current Month Meeting

September 18, 2024
Van Buren Conference Center
490 S. Paw Paw St., Lawrence, MI 49064
August 21, 2024
SMC Foundation Room
58900 Cherry Grove Rd., Dowagiac, 49047
July 17, 2024 - if necessary
SMCAA Main Office
185 E. Main St., Benton Harbor, MI 49022
June 19, 2024
Maud Preston Palenske Memorial Library
500 Market St., St. Joseph MI, 49085
May 15, 2024
Van Buren Conference Center
2149 E. Napier Ave., Benton Harbor, MI 49022
April 17, 2024
Cass District Memorial Library Main Branch
319 M-62, Cassopolis, MI, 49031
March 20, 2024
Maud Preston Palenske Memorial Library
500 Market St., St. Joseph MI, 49085

Board Meeting Minutes

Per the Community Service Policy Manual - Item 210 for Tripartite Board Meetings, SMCAA shall make available to the public the monthly Board of Director's meeting minutes. 

bottom of page